As a human being, there are times that I feel there are others who get things easier than I do. Like having a life without debts, not needing to work hard but still have roof over their heads, could travel overseas, have time to do all sorts of things in their own sweet time, still have people loving them although they couldn’t care less about taking care of feelings of others, gets everything they wanted so easily. Yes, there are people like that in this world, believe it or not!
But recently someone said something that made me realize how lucky I am, and that I should be thankful, very very thankful.
Like when we went for umrah, I managed to go to the masjid every single day. I missed a few prayers, yes, but most of the time, I got to be there. I did not fall sick at all until I came home, so I managed to do all sorts of things that I planned to do, mainly in the masjid.

And when I came back, especially recently, I always had the chance to perform my prayers in the masjid. Not everyday, but more often than I did before. There are also some prayers that I rarely did before but I do more lately.
And I am busy. It is indeed a blessing, because I’m busy being productive, alhamdulillah. I do look back at times and think “man, I should have done this five years ago!” but then hey, at least I’m doing this now! I have this four-books-per-month resolution (which includes one journal article per week), so far I’m quite happy with my progress although the target is only nearly achieved. It then made me able to think clearer at work, have better memory, speak less and work more efficiently. I now bring a book everywhere I go.

I wake up earlier these days, alhamdulillah.
And there are other joys in life that we could only be thankful for if we reflect in them. Like my mom is near, I’m close to my siblings, I love to read, I love to travel, having blood pressure of 106/60mmHg at age 35,  needing to smile to everyone at work, giving all my heart when I’m at work so I feel satisfied when I come home, being able to apply so many of the sunnah of Prophet Muhammad SAW from the moment I step into the hospital until the time I get home, still have time to work out after work and on weekends, could spend some money for my family, could learn so many things about life when I’m at work that others could only dream about…
The list goes on and on and on…
My intention is not to be arrogant or thinking that God loves me more than anyone. Astaghfirullahal’adzim it is not like that.

I was just…well…counting my blessings, and I need to do that a lot, so I could do sujood and thank Allah for putting that thankfulness in me.

