I really am talking about Love Actually, the movie.

 

I guess I’m not the only person who watches this movie every December, or every Christmas. The movie was opened in December 2003. Liza, Nirda and I went to watch it on the first or second day of its release. It was right after our Winter Term exams.

 

The movie was crowded. It was free seating, so we ended up sitting separately. I sat alone in an aisle seat.

 

As soon as I saw the Heathrow Airport, I started crying. “This movie is going to be good!” I thought. That was the scene when the main character, the newly-appointed British Prime Minister, was talking about how love, is actually, all around. How, at the airport, there’s so much love going around. How, during the 9/11 disaster, all call made from the airplane were made for love, not for hate.

 

Yes, the movie was good.

 

Among my favourite scenes was when Jamie went off to Portugal to ask Aurelia for her hand in marriagel. And when they tried to rescue the manuscript of his new novel in the small lake. When they were riding the car together – he’s sending her home. Even when they don’t speak the same language, they were one.

 

Or when this boss guy told his lady staff to throw all caution to the wind and tell the other guy colleague that she had a major crush on him.

 

I love it when the British Prime Minister made a speech when the American President’s visit to the UK came to an end. It was such a patriotic speech, which spirit we may actually take. Simple but loyal, true to his roots. David Beckham’s right foot and Harry Potter. Funny.

 

When the young kid worked so hard to woo the girl he liked.

 

That wedding at the start of the movie – the love of a best friend. Also when he put on Silent Night on the radio, as if Christmas Carolers were singing outside her door. She’s pretty, Keira Nightley.

 

Billy Mack, the funniest….despite his dirty jokes.

 

The end of it, of course.

 

The soundtrack was SUPERB!! Who would forget the performance of that little girl, singing “All I Want For Christmas”. Really, I cried until I was almost sobbing.

 

Up to this day, I don’t know why the song managed to touch my heart EVERY time.

 

. . .

 

It was a wonderful winter. It was our final winter in Dublin before heading back to Penang in March for the rest of the degree program.

 

It was a winter of Lord of The Rings extended versions.

Of long movie nights. We did not see the sunlight.

A winter of Lord of The Rings part 3.

Lord of the Rings Monopoly.

All other board games. All night.

Second homes for everyone.

 

It was a winter of surprise birthday parties. And more food.

Kabhi Kushi Kabhi Gham. Ada Apa Dengan Cinta. Yusry and Erra’s wedding.

 

Time has passed by. But I still miss it so much.

 

Maybe that’s why Love Actually mean a lot more now than ever.

 

Life was good.

 

.  .  .

 

I don’t want a lot for Christmas

There’s just one thing I need

I don’t care about the presents

Underneath the Christmas tree

 

I just want you for my own

More than you could ever know

Make my wish come true

All I want for Christmas is you

 

All the lights are shining so brightly everywhere

And the sounds of children’s laughter fills the air

Everyone is singing

I hear the sleigh bells ringing

Santa, won’t you please bring me the one I really need

Would you please bring my baby to me???

 

I don’t want a lot for Christmas

This is all I’m asking for

I just want to see my baby standing right outside my door

 

I just want you for my own

More than you could ever know

Make my wish come true

All I want for Christmas is YOU!!!

 

