Disclaimer: There are some medical jargons which I may not bother to explain in laymen terms this time around. Time is short. I’m tired and confused and lost in my own world. Heheh.

I was reminded of this someone.

He was a fourth-posting junior MO.
It was my first posting. Fresh out of medical school. Eager to learn.

That’s where the sparks flew. The teacher in him, and the student in me.

It was Ramadhan.

He taught me to counsel an old man, who wanted to leave the hospital, try traditional method, because his left leg was going to be chopped off. The old man left anyway, and within one week he came back. He realised that his left leg was no use.

He showed me around the Emergency Department. Where to get the appointment cards. Where to print labels. Where to get all the syringes and bottles and stuff. How we could do I&D in the emergency and send patient home.

But he did not show me the way OUT of there. I got lost, laughed at myself, allowed the nurses to laugh at me, and they showed me the way out.

He taught me CMR. We did a few together.

Oh, man, he’s so jonah.
So jonah till the end.

Anyway…

He taught me how to resuscitate. What to do and whom to call.

He showed me how to do long lines. And his favourite short lines.

We saw this boy with osteosarcoma of the right thigh. At 3am. As white as the wall. Maggots falling out of the thigh.

He taught me how to pack a bleeding wound.

He helped me set a lot of lines. Right till the end.

He borrowed me his books. They smelled like his car.

Oh, he’s so jonah beyond words.

One day we were on call, we went to Kak Milin’s house for open house. It was raining heavily. I could still remember that day quite clearly.

One fine day in the afternoon, we went all the way to KL to have lunch in a Japanese Restaurant. He paid for all of us. Him, a surgeon, another MO, and I. By the time we went back to the wards, it was already 5pm.

One fine night we went to Delifrance in SS2.

SS2. Where it all began.

The rest was history. His story. And mine too.

Oh, that’s where it all ended too. Hmm…

* * *
I would like to wish someone the very best of luck.
Thanks for your wishes.
Hey, don’t go attach yourself to a first-poster, and break her heart later, ok..

* * *

Aku ingin menjadi mimpi indah dalam hidupmu
Aku ingin menjadi sesuatu yang mungkin bisa kau rindu
Karena langkah merapuh tanpa dirimu
Karena hati tlah letih

Aku ingin menjadi sesuatu yang slalu bisa kau sentuh
Aku ingin kau tahu bahwa ku selalu memujamu
Tanpamu sepinya waktu merantai hati
Bayangmu seakan-akan…

Kau seperti nyanyian dalam hatiku yang memanggil rinduku padamu
Seperti udara yang kuhela kau selalu ada

Hanya dirimu yang bisa membuatku tenang
Tanpa dirimu aku merasa hilang
Dan sepi……

* * *

And he asked me.
“Are you sure you want to get back to medical here?”

Well……

(Written on 26th April 2010 @ 2328hrs)

