What a question….I was watching The Duke on Astro late last night with my brother (for lack of better things to watch) and the issue was ‘What Is A Real Man?’ and I was tempted to give my ten-cents worth.

For me a real man is someone who’s confident enough that he IS a real man. Get what I mean? How do I go about this…I’m laughing away as I write. Ahaks!

Well, in my twenty-over years of life, I’ve faced this problem..well..actually it’s THEIR problem, not mine, that men are just soooo insecure. They just have to do something to prove that they are actually real men. And they won’t approach a girl unless there are CLEAR signals. Sigh…

Basic manly characteristics that God has given to men as an answer to testosterone – build, muscles, energy, deep voice (oooohh…), tough exterior, hair (or the lack of it), height etc etc – it’s on the eyes of the beholder. Tough luck if you have a voice like David Beckham’s, but he’s macho enough to admit that he wears Victoria’s undies, and you can’t say that he’s not good in the football pitch. Though some ladies don’t mind the voice. So is he a real man?

Then there are other things. Their behaviour. Some men think smoking makes them appear more macho. Some just refuse to carry their children (although these days there’s a lot of changes – I guess it’s peer pressure). Some try not to dress up well, because ‘dressing up’ and grooming is sort of a ‘girly’ thing.

And of course, there are some (backwards) men who thinks that if they give way too much to their wives, they’d be less of a man because they have let the wives control their lives.

Hmm…

Oh, there’s always this big issue of crying. Haha…

My personal point of view – if one is confident that he’s a real man, he won’t mind doing seemingly girly things. He wouldn’t mind changing his baby’s diapers, cooking for his tired wife, to groom a bit (my brother had more hair products than I do), to listen to his wife’s opinion on how things might work around the house, wear PINK…

I knew (or I thought I knew) people who are afraid that their wives would take control over the household. Well, I guess in this day and age, the more ‘macho’ the man is, the easier for the wife to follow him. I think this is called LEADERSHIP. Of course, who would follow a leader who lacks of confidence himself?

Hence, confidence = ‘macho’ = leadership = real man. Hohooo…

Well, that’s my definition.

And I have not stopped laughing. Hahaha

