Someone said this before, and I can’t remember who it was. This person (I think it’s a he) was away from his parents, studying, I suppose. So he studied hard. And he said, “This distance between us is difficult for me. So I might as well make it worth the pain.”

Which made me think, and changed my perception, my motivations a little bit.

You know people always say, there’s always a silver lining. There’s always light at the end of the tunnel.

In the Quran it’s mentioned twice in Surah Al-Insyirah. It means something like this, “There’s happiness after difficulties. Indeed, there’s happiness after diffictulties.”

In times of pressure and stress, I have to admit that it is difficult to believe in that. At times problems arise, one after another. Sometimes the list of responsibilities and burdens are just endless. And people’s mouths are always foul and criticising and condemning and demoralising.

Often consoling words are offered. They always come out like this, “I know there must me something good coming your way. I believe that.” Those at the rock bottom would have thought (or maybe said), “It’s easy for you to say that. For me this is endless.”

It occurred to me just now, well, if you think it’s endless, it IS endless.

God has promised us that good things will come after a test, a challenge, a period of difficult times. God has promised us that He’ll grant whatever we pray for, or give us not exactly the things we asked for but replace it with something even better. God has promised us that He won’t change the fate of a person, unless that person works to change his own fate.

During hard times, it’d be easy for us to bow down to defeat. It’s easy to give up. It’s difficult to hold on to our faith. It’s difficult to believe that something good IS coming our way.

Well, when I think about it, of course nothing good will come our way if we stay in bed crying everyday.
Nothing great will come our way if we sit down and fret about our misfortune.
Even worse things will happen if we hang around blaming others and spreading untruths about why we have failed.
Even worse things will happen if we continue harping about the fact that we’ve fallen, without plans to climb back up.

Everybody knows that life IS a bed of roses – it consists of nice flowers with sweet smell, but it also comes with the thorns.
Everybody knows we’ll lose once in a while.
Everyone knows that life has its ups and downs.
Everybody gets hurt. Some harder than others.

Why can’t we make it worth the pain, then?
It’s worth going through the pain if we’re going to be a better person.
It’s worth going through the suffering if we’re going to be happy later on.
It’s worth climbing up after the fall, when the view is great and the top is beautiful.
It’s worth holding on to that faith, the faith that says, “God has promised us….this is His promise, and He’ll hold on to it.”
So why can’t we hold on to Him too?

Because if we don’t, it’s not worth the pain at all.
It will only be an empty space that means nothing.
And our lives will mean nothing too.

* * *

Miley Cyrus’ The Climb

I can almost see it, that dream I’m dreaming
But there’s a voice inside my head saying, “You’ll never reach it.”

Every step I’m taking, every move I make feels lost with no direction
My faith is shaking

But I gotta keep trying, gotta keep my head held high

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose

Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waiting on the other side
It’s the climb…(and the view is great)

The struggles I’m facing, the chances I’m taking, sometimes might knock me down
But no, I’m not breaking

I may not know it but these are the moments
That I’m gonna remember most, yeah, just gotta keep going….

